#LifeAfterLoss: Finding comfort from Twitter

My name is Sam, and I’m a quote-a-holic.

You know that feeling when someone seems to have put words to your thoughts? I love it. I mean I really love it. I also love when you get the whoa-I-never-thought-of-it-that-way or the oh-I-need-to-remember-this feelings.

Chalk it up to the fact that I like being provoked; I like to feel and man do I like to think.

So, in the same way that music and song lyrics have helped me cope with my loss, reading the thoughts of those who have also experienced the death of a loved one has helped as well.

You know the old adage that says it’s wise to surround yourself with good people? It holds true in both the real world and digital world. And when you’re grieving – even years later – it’s refreshing to surround yourself with people who get it, even if its through virtual means.

There are countless inspirational Pinterest and Instagram accounts you can follow to fill your social media world with a healthy dose of hope and positivity. There are groups you can join and pages you can ‘like’ on Facebook to help you cope too. But for me, there are few things more comforting than the sporadic, daily reminder – in the form of 140 characters – that I’m not alone.

Amidst news updates, friends’ musings and your regular, everyday social media clutter, I’ve mixed in accounts that help me to remember my dad and remind me to grieve well (remember: an all-grief timeline would get exhausting).

You can view or subscribe to my ever-expanding list here, but here are a few of my favorite accounts to get you started.

Know of a must-have account for the list? Comment below.

 

4 comments

  1. Hi Sam, I was wondering if you would consider adding my blog Widower’s Grief to your list. I write about grief for Modern Loss, The Manifest-Station, Open to Hope, The Good Men Project, and the Huffington Post.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

