Finding those who get it

On Dec. 1, 2002 – as I stared blankly at the stark walls of the ICU waiting room – my world changed with the words “daddy died.” To say I felt completely alone would be one of my life’s greatest understatements. The fifth graders who surrounded me could not relate, and typecast as a daddy’s girl, my family seemed foreign.

Six months later, my life changed again when I attended Comfort Zone Camp, the nation’s largest free bereavement camp for children who have experienced the death of a parent, sibling or primary caregiver. As I shared my story for the first time – surrounded by campers and volunteers – I realized I was not alone. Suddenly, I was on the receiving end of another’s selfless empathy; I had experienced the gift of someone wholly dedicating her time to make me smile.

Now, nearly 11 years later, I have attended well over 70 of Comfort Zone’s weekend camps as both a camper and volunteer. Do something meaningful today by taking the time to learn about the supportive resource that is Comfort Zone. You never know when someone in your life will benefit.

One comment

Share Your Thoughts

